Heard of Click It Or Ticket? It’s not just a marketing campaign. In fact, you can be fined for not wearing a seat belt in the state of Florida — it’s the law.

The dangers of not buckling up are very real. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, about 10,076 passengers not using a seat belt were killed in crashes in the United States in 2017. That’s why the state put into effect the Florida seat belt law. Effective June 30, 2009, the Dori Slosberg and Katie Marchetti Safety Belt Law requires all drivers operating a motor vehicle and passengers to wear a seat belt.

History of the Seat Belt Law in Florida

Back in 1996 and 2006, Dori and Katie both tragically lost their lives in car accidents as a result of not wearing a seat belt. So, many efforts were made and a law was put into effect on June 30th, 2009 making Florida the 27th state to allow police officers to stop vehicles when drivers or passengers are not wearing a seat belt.

Seat Belt Requirements

This statute covers all the specifics to guide you on seat belt safety. Here are a few notable requirements to remember:

  • All drivers and front-seat passengers on Florida roads must have their seat belt secured.
  • All passengers under 18 must be wearing their seat belts.
  • It is a $30 fine if you are found not wearing a seat belt.
  • Drivers are responsible for buckling in children and, for children under 3, having them in the appropriate child restraint seats.
  • If there are children in the vehicle not properly restrained, it is a $60 fine.

Florida Seat Belt Law Exemptions

The requirements of Florida’s seat belt law do not apply to the following:

  • Motor vehicles not required to have their seat belts equipped under federal law.
  • United States Postal Service carriers while performing work duties on their postal route.
  • Employees of a waste collection service while collecting waste and recyclables on their route.
  • Employees of a newspaper home delivery service while delivering papers on their route.
  • The living quarters of an RV or space within a truck intended for property or merchandise.
  • Someone certified by a physician for having a medical condition that makes wearing a seat belt dangerous or inappropriate.

Why is it Important to Wear Your Seat Belt?

Seat belts keep you from being ejected out of a vehicle or thrown around in the car when you get into an accident. More importantly, this is only true if you keep the seat belt on your hips and across your chest, not tucked behind you. While many lives are lost for failing to wear a seat belt, many more are saved for wearing them. According to research from NHTSA, seat belts saved 14,955 passenger lives in 2017. Whether you’re driving through the neighborhood or driving up I-95, you should always have your seat belt secured.

Boca Raton Personal Injury Attorneys

Car accident injuries and deaths are not uncommon. Were you involved in a car accident in Florida? Do you need help understanding the Florida seat belt law? If so, seek help from a personal injury attorney.

At the Landau Law Group, our experienced personal injury attorneys offer free case evaluations. Contact us online or call us at (866)703-4878 for your free evaluation.


Florida Seat Belt Law FAQ

Can you get pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt in Florida?

Yes, on June 30th, 2009, Florida became the 27th state to allow police officers to stop vehicles when drivers or passengers are not wearing a seat belt.

What is the fine for not wearing a seatbelt in Florida?

Seat belt tickets in Florida are $30 for an individual found not to be wearing their seatbelt and $60 if there are children in the vehicle that aren’t properly restrained.

How many license points does a Florida seatbelt ticket cost?

Drivers who receive a seat belt citation in Florida may have three points taken off their licenses. Additionally, they will have to pay the Florida seat belt fines, they may be sent to traffic school, and they will face increased car insurance premiums.