An unexpected accident can leave you with multiple questions regarding your injury. Many people are not sure of what steps to take to protect themselves. Many don’t even realize they can seek help for their case. That’s why we’ve compiled a list of the most common questions you may have after an accident.
If you’re still unsure about something or would like your case evaluated by an expert for free, contact The Landau Law Group by calling 866-703-4878 today!
What is a Personal Injury?
The legal definition of personal injury is an injury to a person caused by another person’s negligence. If you suffered an injury from someone’s failure of caution, you may be entitled to compensation. Accidents involving personal injury include car accidents, motorcycle accidents, bike accidents, truck accidents, workplace accidents, slip and fall accidents, product liability, and more.
What Should I Do After an Accident?
The first thing you should do after suffering an injury from an accident is to seek medical attention. Even if your injury seems minor or you feel no pain, symptoms of an injury sometimes take days to show up. Be sure to record as much evidence possible at the scene of the accident. Evidence can be in the form of pictures and videos. You should also get contact information from any bystanders or witnesses to the accident. If you believe you are not at fault, set up a consultation with an experienced personal injury attorney. At the Landau Law Group, your consultation is free!
What Type of Damages Can I Receive Compensation For?
Depending on the severity of your injuries, you may be entitled to compensation for lost wages, medical expenses, pain and suffering, mental anguish, and more. If you have a wrongful death claim on your hands, additional compensation can be received for funeral expenses, loss of companionship, and more.
What Damages Are Available in a Personal Injury Case?
In any personal injury case, there are compensatory damages. These damages are divided into economic and non-economic damages. Economic damages are usually tangible costs and losses. These include your medical bills, lost wages, property damage, and future medical costs. Non-economic damages are usually not tangible, but subjective damages. They can cover mental anguish, pain and suffering, loss of enjoyment in life, and more. There must be a way to measure any damages in order to be awarded money for them. There are also punitive damages available which are meant to punish defendants if their behavior was especially terrible.
How Much is My Personal Injury Case Worth?
In assessing your case and its value, we will need to consider the following factors: the extent of injuries, degree of pain and emotional suffering, degree of disability, and the extent to which your injuries will affect your way of life. For a free consultation, contact us and speak to one of our experienced personal injury attorneys today!
How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury Case?
In the state of Florida, you have 4 years from the date of the accident to file a personal injury claim. For other civil injury cases, such as Medical Malpractice, Assault/Battery, Product Liability, Wrongful Death, and Workers’ Compensation, the Florida Statute § 95.11 states 2 years from the date of the accident.
Many factors may affect the statute of limitations. For example, the age of the victim. If a minor under 18 is injured, they usually have more time to file a claim. If you suffer an injury that takes many years to show up after exposure, the limitations may be more lenient. If you file a claim against government entities, it may be subject to different procedures and ask for shorter filing time.
How Do I Know If I Have a Case?
If you believe your injury was a result of the other party’s negligence, you may be entitled to compensation. Many factors will also come into play when determining if you have a case or not. Every case is special, that’s why The Landau Law Group offers a free case evaluation! To have your case reviewed by an experienced attorney, contact us today!
Do I Have a Case if I Don’t Feel Hurt?
Many times, getting into an accident will put your body into fight-or-flight mode. This is a biological function in which a wave of adrenaline is sent through your body in response to an alarming situation. You may experience a temporary reduction of pain or feeling which can make you falsely assume that you have not been injured. Symptoms of any injuries may come up later. In the case of an accident, it’s best to seek medical assistance and see a doctor even if you do not see any obvious signs of injury.
What Should I Do if an Insurance Adjuster Calls Me?
If you receive a call from an insurance adjuster, anything you say may be used against you. A lot of times, these people will be friendly and try to get statements from you in order to reduce or completely eliminate any liability from the person they insure. You should simply tell the insurance adjuster to contact your attorney or your insurance company. This also applies to the question of someone else’s attorney contacting you.
How Long Will It Take to Settle My Claim?
Often times, a personal injury case will end in a settlement and never make it to trial. It can be very hard to predict when you’ll reach a settlement. Usually the more extensive the injuries and more money involved, the longer it’ll take to reach a settlement. A fair offer can be made earlier if you hire an attorney to speak to the insurer. You can also avoid being taken advantage of when you have expert help on your side.
What if the Accident Happened on the Job?
If you were injured on the job, you may be qualified to receive workers’ compensation. This is done through your employer to cover medical expenses and lost wages. If you’ve suffered a disability from the injury, you may be eligible to receive lump-sum payouts and rehabilitation assistance. If you were injured at work due to a defective product or equipment from a manufacturer, you may sue a third party in an additional personal injury claim. If your situation applies and you may pursue a personal injury claim, you can receive more compensation than you would just through workers’ comp.
How Do I Pay for a Lawyer in a Personal Injury Case?
At the Landau Law Group, we operate with no obligation. You owe us nothing unless we get money for you! Contact us today for your free consultation!