No fault insurance Florida
Florida is one of twelve current no fault insurance states in the United States.
Florida’s No fault insurance statute requires motorists to carry a certain minimum amount of coverage to be used in the event of an accident.
In this post, we’ll delve into the topic of florida no fault car insurance, covering what no fault insurance is, misconceptions about florida no fault insurance, who pays, and more.
What is a no fault state?
Before we get into the specifics of Florida’s no fault statute, some of you might be wondering “what does no fault mean” or “what is a no fault state?”
In a no-fault state, drivers have insurance (see “is it illegal to drive without insurance in Florida?“) to cover their own injuries and damage rather than insuring to pay out to the other person. In the event of an accident, everyone has to file a claim with their own insurance, regardless of who was “at fault” or caused the accident.
This is different than at fault states where drivers are forced to choose between filing a claim with their own insurance company, the other driver’s insurance company, or filing a lawsuit.
No fault insurance FL misconceptions
Many drivers wrongly assume that no fault means that they cannot be held accountable for causing an accident. This is false and drivers that cause serious car accidents in the state of Florida are still likely to face personal injury lawsuits from victims who are looking to recover compensation for:
- Emotional distress
- Lost income
- Medical expenses
- Pain and suffering
The Florida no fault law and minimum car insurance in Florida
Every driver in the state of Florida is required to carry a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. When there is an accident, the driver may use their coverage to pay for any losses.
Either driver that was involved can use the Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage, regardless of who caused the accident. Rather than filing claims with various entities to get coverage, drivers turn to their own insurance company for coverage.
If the accident caused more than $10,000 in losses (lost wages, medical bills, medications, surgeries, etc.) then drivers in Florida should look at filing a personal injury lawsuit.
Who pays for car damage in a no-fault state?
Besides Personal Injury Protection (PIP), Florida drivers must also purchase a minimum of $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage.
This additional Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage pays for property damage in an accident, with the at-fault driver usually being the one that pays for the damage.
Additional Florida liability insurance
Another form of required additional coverage in Florida is Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) insurance, which helps pay for serious injuries, permanent injuries, or deaths from car accidents.
The at-fault driver’s insurance is responsible for paying Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) costs.
In Florida, drivers must have BIL insurance with a minimum coverage of $10,000 bodily injury per person and $20,000 bodily per accident. Typically, the at-fault driver’s insurance company will pay out for injuries up to the policy limit and then will pay for representation for their client in court.
Florida no fault insurance exceptions
Florida’s no-fault insurance laws do contain exceptions that allow drivers to sue other drivers whom they feel caused the accident or was at fault.
Typically, these lawsuits are brought against other drivers in the event of severe or expensive injuries or damage that isn’t completely covered by insurance.
Florida accident attorneys at Landau Law
If you were in a motor vehicle accident in Florida, dealing with the insurance process and possible personal injury litigation can be a challenge, especially when you may also be dealing with injuries and other repercussions from your recent accident. The Florida personal injury attorneys at Landau Law are here to help!
Contact us today for a completely free, confidential, and compassionate consultation. We don’t charge you anything until we recover for you.
Florida Car Accident Lawyer
Car Accident Blog Posts
Electric scooters have become a common sight on many streets in Florida, with their popularity soaring in recent years. While these eco-friendly and convenient vehicles offer an alternative mode of transportation, they have also brought about a concerning surge in...
Recently a client came in and asked, "I hit an illegally parked car is it my fault?" The answer is not a simple yes or no. There will be several factors that must be considered to determine fault in this situation. Who Is Responsible If You Hit An Illegally Parked...
Being involved in any type of car accident is frustrating. From the minute that the accident happens, life becomes more challenging. This is even more true if you are injured during the accident. Who Is At Fault In A Right Turn Accident? When you want to make a right...
Driving a car in reverse is one of the most dangerous things you can do. No matter how a driver attempts to look behind them, they have a restricted view, whether they actually turn their head, use mirrors, or a backup camera. We rely on sight to drive. When you can't...
Car accidents, as terrifying as they may seem, happen all the time. With the busy lives we lead these days, it's difficult to find time for anything else. One thing we often forget is that driving is a major responsibility that should not be taken lightly- and when...
The new Florida cell phone law strictly prohibits drivers from texting while driving. The law prohibits the use of any handheld device while operating a vehicle, with a few exceptions. Under this law, drivers are allowed to use their handheld devices to notify the...
When a person has been involved in a car accident, it is very common for them to ask one of our attorneys, "which Florida law requires owners and operators of motor vehicles to be financially responsible?" The answer to that is quite simple; the Florida Financial...
There are many questions that a person has after they have been involved in a car accident. How much can I sue for in a car accident? Can someone sue you for a car accident in Florida? How long can someone sue you after a car accident? How long do you have to sue...